Sanja Mihajlovik-Kostadinovska

Sanja Mihajlovik-Kostadinovska

Sanja Mihailovik-Kostadinovska, born 1982 in Skopje, Assistant Professor of Spanish Literature at the Department of Romance Languages and Literatures at the Blaze Koneski Faculty of Philology, Ss. Cyril and Methodius University in Skopje, gained her PhD at Complutense University of Madrid. She has long dabbled in amateur dramatics, directing, translating, writing and adapting scripts. She has won several awards for short stories and Templum’s award for best debut novel in 2015 for 517. 517, a short dystopian novel set in a timeless society where everything is organized according to presentism, tells the story of a small group of young men and women putting together the pieces of their forgotten memories to bring back the normal flow of time. (In)Finite Models of the Short Story (2018), her first collection of short stories, among the most widely read works published by Begemot, is composed of short metafictional stories seeking stories in almost everything, even the most trivial everyday things, so we can comprehend the infinity of fictional models regardless of imagination‘s limitations. She also published a children’s book Sleepyhead (2019).

She has participated in several prose festivals, and her short stories have been published in literary magazines and anthologies in their original Macedonian, Serbian, English and Spanish. Her translations include Gonzalo Torrente Ballester’s Don Juan, María Teresa Andruetto’s Stefano, as well as poems, and excerpts from plays in anthologies of Macedonian literature in Spanish. She is an active member of the Macedonian Association of Translators and Interpreters (MATA).

Outstanding awards and distinctions

  • 2012 – second prize at the short story competition organized by Citybooks
  • 2017 – several awards for short stories:
  • “Thumbelina” – one of the winning stories at the competition entitled “Freedom, dream, love
  • “An ordinary day” – third place at the competition “Skopje and the catastrophic earthquake from 1963
  • “Border” – one of the ten best stories at the competition “Escape
  • 2018 – “War is a small word”, a story that was selected among twenty other stories at the Biber competition and published in a multilingual collection
  • 2015 – Novite Prize for the Best Debut Novel
  • Books

Short story collection

  • (In)finite models of the story / (Бес)конечни модели на расказот (2018)

Book for children

  • Sleepyhead / Сонувалко (2019)


  • 517 (2015)


Books by Sanja Mihajlovik-Kostadinovska

Literary Cooperative